Southern Style Chicken by Chubby’s Rib Shack

Friday. Pay day. We deserved to treat ourselves for a job well done throughout the week. We made our way to SM Food Hall.

I was enticed by the Southern cuisine and decided to give it a go.

I have always heard of Southern-style fried chicken. I’ve seen people cook it over and over on cooking shows like Master Chef and Top Chef. As soon as I saw it on the menu, I did not hesitate.

20161014_124005

Was it what I thought it would be? To be honest, I’ve no idea.

What I liked about it is the heat. It was subtle. It was in the Honky Tonk rice and in the chicken. The rice was awesome and there’s a Mexican feel to eat because of the beans. The chicken was moist on the inside and crispy on the outside.

I didn’t eat the coleslaw because it has mayonnaise in it.

The charred corn was cold. Or was it supposed to be cold?

Over-all, the meal was great. The components came together to form a cohesive unit. I have one issue, though – the gravy. It tastes more like a pasta sauce than gravy by itself. But, eating it together with the rest of the dish works for me.

My friend says that the ribs and pulled pork are delicious, too. I think I’ll give those a try.

Leave a Reply

