Connected

I have got to tell you that I am not friendly. I have a hard time putting my guard down and I make sure that I filter all of the people that come into my life.

Having said that, I never had many friends – only a few close ones. They say that high school was the best part of your life. I never had that thought. I was not a part of a group of friends who constantly hung out.

Around 6 years after we graduated high school, a classmate of mine invited me to a volleyball game that involved different personalities from our class. I was hesitant at first but since it was a volleyball game, I decided to join.

That decision turned my life around. From being someone who is isolated, I became connected. I suddenly couldn’t imagine going through life without these amazing people. I wonder how I would turn out had I been with them all along.

But, as we all know it, life is all about timing. That deciding moment was the time when I was about to graduate from college. I would not want to go into the world without a single friend who will be with me.

Now, they are an essential part of my life and a constant source of sanity. They make my life easier and funnier. It’s like being back in high school.

Leave a Reply

