X-Men: Apocalypse

XMen Apocalypse

I am a fan of the two previous X-Men movies – First Class and Days of Future Past. And, by the end of the previous movie, I got excited about Apocalypse.

I was so excited that I wanted to watch it in 4DX in Bonifacio High Street, the first and only 4D cinema in this country. So this entry is probably a mix of a movie review and an experience narration.

First and foremost, 4D needs getting used to. If you have already watched the movie, the first few scenes will give you a bit of a dizziness. Your eyes will adjust to the 3D and your body should accustom itself to the vibrating and the moving. Aerial shots, at first, are a bit of punch in the head. But, as the movie progressed, it was a great experience.

And the movie. It was half-and-half for me. I loved how it is set before the first three X-Men films. The progression of the story, though, needs fixing. There aren’t enough fight scenes. And, Jubilee is totally underutilized (come on, she comes before Jean Grey in the X-Men animated series opening theme).

See?

But, anyway, I try not to think of the first three X-Men movies because it just raises a lot of questions. Like, if Angel is already dead during this time, who is the angel in X3? Also, as far as I know, Mystique is Nightcrawler’s mother. So many other stuff that’s brought about the confused timelines of the films.

Can we suggest that Marvel take over X-Men so that we can, at the very least, be comfortable with the consistency?

When’s the next X-Men movie? I hope they will do it better.

5 thoughts on “X-Men: Apocalypse

  1. I’ve heard so many die hard fans that just felt meh about this movie. This worries me! Thanks for the cartoon opening clip, it was great to see it again but I’m going to be humming that song all day now…

Leave a Reply

