Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

The prompt said:

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

My name is Jodimer. It’s a mnemonic for Jesus Our Divine Mercy.

It was the fourth month of my mother’s pregnancy when my grandfather died. His last dying wish was to give me a name reminiscent of where my mother goes to pray for my good health, the Divine Mercy Shrine in Mandaluyong City. He also came up with the name.

My mother, being the good daughter and all, followed my grandfather’s orders; thus, the name.

Would I change my name? A resounding no. Given the history and what it means, it is a personal challenge for me to give it justice.

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

Leave a Reply

