The Wanderlust

Wanderlust, as defined by the Merriam Webster, is:

a strong desire to travel

This probably started when I first went on a solo trip to Cebu last 2012. It was actually an inadvertent one. The person I’m going with suddenly had exams on the week we’re going.

I promised myself one new place each year. Ever since then, I have been going places with my high school friends and colleagues.

2012 – Cebu City, San Narciso, Davao City, Samal

2013 – Mt Pinatubo, Baler, Ho Chi Minh City

2014 – Siem Reap, Bangkok, Bagac

2015 – Seoul, Busan, Laiya (May 2015)Singapore (July 2015), Cagayan de Oro, Camiguin, Bukidnon (October 2015)

Listed above are new places I’ve been to in the past four years. The ones in italics will be happening in the future which means, I already have concrete plans and plane tickets to the said destinations.

Not only that, I have plans for 2016 as well.

March – April 2016: Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Tokyo

October 2016: Taipei, Kaohsiung

Being a wanderlust is a fun and awesome experience. You get to live in cultures outside of your own. You see the different ways of life and immerse yourself in places you read only in books.

It also poses a problem of being obsessive about when you’re going to next. It’s not about escaping your reality, it’s about annexing it with a lot more colorful and rich experiences.

I am a big planner of adventures but I give it the flexibility of being lost. Being lost is one way of seeing the places travel guides don’t tell you. They give you the most raw of all experiences.

So, I never go with the fad of saying ‘going back to reality’ after a good vacation. After all, visiting these places are also my reality and I have no life that I need to take a vacation from.

I will never go out of places to go to. The Philippines have a lot of hidden gems that I need to explore. The Asia is also one big continent. The past four years are just the beginning.

So, where are we off to next?

Leave a Reply

