Yeojwacheon

IMG_8737

Address: Yeojwa-dong, Jinhae-gu, Changwon, Yeongnam, South Korea

How to get there: I don’t remember, we just got lost. And asked around. Koreans will help you get there. I know it’s near the Jinhae Train Station.

Operating Hours: All day

Entrance Fee: Free

The Yeojwacheon is also known as the Cherry Blossom Road. It is one of the main attractions of the Jinhae Cherry Blossom Festival or the Jinhae Gunhangje Festival.

My first impression of the stream and the city itself is that it’s a fairytale waiting to happen. Just being in the city makes you feel that magic is just waiting around the corner.

For me, the stream is very romantic. It’s nice to spend time with your loved one just strolling along the side of the stream.

This post will not be complete without a photo of a cherry blossom. So, here it is. Beautiful, no?

IMG_8755

There are different sections of the stream which are designed with different items such as umbrellas, bicycles, and Disney characters.

IMG_8775

There’s also a part where you can go down the stream and walk alongside it. To be honest, this is a better view of the cherry blossoms. And it’s a beautiful sight when the wind blows and some blossoms get blown away.

That’s definitely magic.

IMG_8782

At the streets on the either side of the stream are stalls that sell various Korean street food. One thing always gets my attention and I can’t figure out what it is. Could it be an insect? Or shellfish? The food beside it is mangu and it’s just tasty!

IMG_8784

One thing I also learned about Korean culture is that in this day and age, they still believe in fortune telling. This could be rooted in their belief in karma and their heavy foundation on spirituality.

We are days ahead of the official start of the festival. 3 days to be exact. It would be better, I think, if we arrived a little later so that most trees are in full bloom.

I will definitely go back to this spot with a significant other and make magic happen before our own eyes.

3 thoughts on “Yeojwacheon

  1. Amazing photos! Makes me want to pack my bags and head there right now. What camera do you use? The snacks you featured are called ‘beondegi’ by the way. They’re steamed silk worm pupae. πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you! And by just writing these entries, I am thinking about when I would go back to Korea. I miss it already!

      I used a Canon EOS 600D camera for my photos.

      Ah! Thanks for that information. I should’ve mustered enough courage to go and try some! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

