Enemy

My first thoughts were, “ooh, two Jake Gyllenhaals in one movie. Great.”

That was not a case though. This psychological thriller is a challenge to the mind. I wasn’t able to see it clearly at first but with the help of the internet, I was able to understand it.

The movie is based on The Double by Jose Saramago and it is a story about living in a totalitarian state without knowing it.

It is a bit more complex when you haven’t read the book. Maybe, if I had a chance to read it before watching the movie, I’d be a bit more at ease with it. I know that the spiders have some metaphor it represent but I wasn’t sure what. The movie did provide an avenue for thinking and it was successful at that.

Leave a Reply

