Holidays in Baguio: Christmas Day

I woke up on Christmas Day on a very full stomach. But, we have to attend Christmas Day mass. So, without taking a bath, I changed my clothes for mass. Hey, that’s totally acceptable when I haven’t even sweat for days!

Coincidentally, the church we have been going to is named Divine Mercy Church. And, as all of you know that’s part of who I am. I was offered under that divinity. It was a different experience for me because I had a stronger connection with the church.

https://flic.kr/p/qk3ms2

As we have discovered the night before, the apartment is just walking distance from the church. Add to that, a beautiful view of the mountains of Benguet. So, we decided to just walk home because the weather permits and pick sunflowers from the roadside. We assumed that it’s not illegal to get them because they’re wild sunflowers. I picked some to be given to my mother.

Beautiful.

When we arrived home, lunch was about to be served. Some of the leftovers from the celebration last night were used. And, yes, that’s how we do it in the Philippines. While they think about what we’re doing for the afternoon, I decided to take a nap. But, not long before I got into any deep kind of sleep, they managed to settle on biking for the kids while the others attend mass. After that, dinner and then to the night market.

So, I was in charge of taking care of the kids while they bike. It was kind of a gloomy afternoon then.

Gloomy Christmas Day.

The park was a bit more crowded than two days before. Families were outside celebrating the day with their loved ones. But that didn’t stop the kids from having fun. I just sat back and enjoyed the beautiful weather.

The harder part of the day was to find a dinner place. Knowing that a lot of people are out today, we immediately found ourselves in Session Road to look for a place that can accommodate 13 people in as soon as possible. We did find Steaks & Toppings in the middle of it all. Good thing that a big group of people was finished when we arrived. Hurrah for perfect timings!

Dinner commotion.

After dinner, the children and my parents went home and we walked around to look for some tea. Unfortunately, there wasn’t any. So, we made our way to one end of the night market. We talked about meeting up at the Igorot Garden once we’re done. I had a bet that I’ll be the first one there. Yes, three sisters and I know how long it will take for them to go to the end of the night market. I was just looking for three simple things: (1) a good jacket, (2) playing shoes, and (3) shoes for casual wear. Those were relatively easy to find but sizes do not fit. I found the perfect Mizuno shoes but they’re two sizes small. And, they were cheap too! Sad. So, when I arrived at the end, I attacked the food stalls vehemently.

The light at the end of the tunnel.

And, after 30 minutes, I discover that I am the only one without a bag. Well, that’s life. Maybe, I was not meant for night markets. We go home after another round of street food. It was as if we didn’t eat dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

