Yes!

Yes! is the title of Jason Mraz’ most recent album and the name of his tour for this year. He has with him Raining Jane, a folk band that helps him with his songwriting chores and performances. It is my first time to watch him live. And boy, have I been missing this for quite some time now.

Jason Mraz was in the Philippines for a one night engagement at the Smart Araneta Coliseum last November 27, 2014.

I love him more now because of this concert. This is definitely worth the price. And if I could do it all over again, I would pay for a seat in the lower sections. That’s how worthy he is of the price of the ticket I’m paying. For three hours, he is singing except for the 10 minute intermission and the first two songs which Raining Jane took care of. No artist could ever do that. And those were not just easy songs, they’re songs that have a lot of range and intricacies.

What I liked about him is that he can change the rendition of his songs without ruining them. He can also add all the vocal gymnastics like runs and falsettos without it being an overkill. He can make you feel the emotions he wants to portray with the song he has written. He is a great storyteller – no song is ever put into waste, no song is ever without meaning. He makes the audience participate by letting them sing lines to his songs. I especially liked him letting us sing the final line for I’m Yours.

I did cry a lot of times especially during Lucky, A Beautiful Mess, Mr. Curiousity, and The Remedy. These are such iconic songs with a lot of depth and meaning. The songs from his current album didn’t have much change in them maybe because it’s what he was promoting. But, nonetheless, Yes! was such a great album to listen to. It gives off a positive vibe that helps you get through a tough day.

Here’s the set list from his Manila leg:

  1. Life is Wonderful
  2. Everywhere
  3. Sweet Dreams
  4. Dynamo of Volition
  5. Lucky
  6. True
  7. Butterfly
  8. I Take the Music
  9. Hello, You Beautiful Thing
  10. Make it Mine
  11. Quiet

Intermission

  1. A Beautiful Mess
  2. 3 Things
  3. Back to the Earth
  4. Living in the Moment
  5. Mr. Curiousity
  6. Sail Away
  7. Love Someone
  8. O. Lover
  9. Geek in the Pink
  10. Only Human
  11. Long Drive
  12. The Remedy
  13. 93 Million Miles
  14. Shine
  15. I’m Yours
  16. I Won’t Give Up
  17. It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday

After the concert, this was the only thing I could say:

Sulit is when you get the most out of what you paid for. That was definitely it and I can’t wait for him to be back! I will definitely buy a ticket in the lower sections. I just didn’t like the non-seat I was sitting on.

Finally watched Jason Mraz live!

Leave a Reply

