Fantasy: Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Honestly, I read the book because I needed to prepare for the musical version of it. I love the songs from the musical so I thought that I might want to go to the piece of literature that inspired the musical itself.

I was very disappointed – not because it was different from what I know of the musical but because of a lot of other factors.

The books is the back story of Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West. It tells us how she became so evil and the reasons why. I didn’t like the book because of the writing. It was both dragging and confusing. I also felt like it was jumping from one scene to the next without any smooth transition.

I did, though, understand why she decided to be ‘bad’ instead. It was like everything she did, good or bad, was taken against her just because she was prejudiced due to her skin color.

I almost gave up reading it because it really gave me headaches. The previous scenes weren’t memorable enough to be retained in my memory. As I go through the book, I had to scavenge, so many times, for what happened in the past. And now I am thinking if I want to continue with The Son of the Witch and the other books in the series.

4 thoughts on “Fantasy: Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

  1. I felt the opposite. I read the book and enjoyed it. I was super excited for the musical version and couldn’t wait to see the adaptation. I finally saw it the first time it came to Los Angeles and I nearly left at intermission. I didn’t like it at all. That said, I think my enjoyment of Maguire’s first book was a fluke. I read a few of his other novels, including the sequel to Wicked and they were horrible. They gave me headaches too! I think he’s just a gimmicky author and now I avoid him.

      1. I think that might it it. I didn’t think the book was great by any stretch, but I enjoyed it. I love musical theatre and was very excited about the adaptation. It just fell flat for me. Honestly, it was one of the biggest let-downs that I’ve had with a musical.

Leave a Reply

