The Gozum Family Reunion of 2013

This year, the Gozum Family decided to hold its very grand reunion. People from all over invited to join in so that cousins and grandchildren get to meet the other members of the big family. How big you might ask? My father has 18 other siblings. That includes 2 sets of twins. Anyway, only 7 are surviving right now but the spouses of those long gone are present.

The reunion was held in the Summer House of Villa Angelica in Angeles City, Pampanga. Pampanga is the hometown of the family and most of the memories are forged and created in the said place. Also, majority of the family members still live in Pampanga and in the surrounding areas such as Tarlac and Zambales. The farthest that people come from is Zamboanga. Naturally, those from farther places like the Middle East and USA were not able to come home.

The program included a cheer part (for each family) and introductions. I learned that most are still Kapampangan speakers so I wasn’t able to understand most of the speeches. Although, I did pay attention to the names of my immediate family members. Due to the sheer number of family members, I already have grandchildren. I am just 25 and there are grandchildren already? My father is the fourth youngest Gozum sibling so the older siblings’ children’s children already have children. Did you get it? My father is already at the end of the Gozum family roster that the older siblings already had time to reproduce. Anyway, that’s something cool from this side of the family.

I wanted to swim but I do not have a towel which is a bit of a hassle if you think about it. Of course, one of the best things during a Kapampangan gathering is definitely the food. It was a feast! There is lechon, different viands, pastries, juice. You name it, it’s there. The whole time after the food was served, I was just eating. I was so full! Even until it was time to go home.

We had to be finished by four because there will be another event by 5. The whole family decided to meet every 2 years to keep the unity alive. I don’t mind. It’s actually nice to see the children grow up. I do hope that on the next reunion there will be a lot kore interaction.

Leave a Reply

