The Happiness Project: Updates

So, I started to envoy into this adventure called The Happiness Project last May 22, 2013. The reasons for which are written on the same blog post as the declaration of the said adventure.

So far, it has been a great ride. Just last night, I could very well say that I have achieved one of the best highs in my life. That is, I felt like I was at the top of my game, I was happiest than I have ever been and that nobody can say anything that could make me feel bad about myself.

It wasn’t an easy ride nor was the adventure close enough to a piece of cake. But, the mere fact that I had less breakdowns and anti-social tendencies helped me think that I am on the right path. Nothing worth having is ever easy they say. True, it wasn’t easy but what made it easier is now I have partner I can lean on to when I feel like I cannot take it anymore. And, I guess, he just validated that partnership.

Last night was that validation. It’s great to know that you get to reap the fruits of your hard work. It’s not that my efforts for this relationship as hard work. But, like what they say in real life that you make a good job out of the tasks that you enjoy doing. And that makes me happy. I see the fruits of the labor and I get appreciated in return.

Well, the relationship is just one of the things that make me happy. I also think that I am doing a better job at work mainly because I like the majority of the people I work with. Yes, I do not have a say on who I want to service but I must say that I have good rapport with most of these people. It makes working a bit lighter and the mood in the office a bit happier.

I am at the peak right now. I hate to think of the way the world works – that one day you’re up and the next you’re down. That possibly, a very high level of happiness could produce a detrimental level of depression. I would hate to think that. But, knowing that I have routinely practiced the art of focusing on the positive will get me through that dreaded phase. Also, if it helps, it’s nice to think that it will never happen. That every low point is just a challenge towards another high.

The optimist in me has resurrected. It was dormant for quite a while because I thought that life is just a messed up place I was thrown into. I forgot about the thing called the 5S of Good Housekeeping. Not only is it applicable to real life, it does provide a good exercise towards being able to filter feelings and thoughts. The next time bad thoughts enter my mind, I now know where to better put them.

Leave a Reply

