Romantic Fantasy: Beautiful Creatures

Dark secrets will come to light.

I thought that it was another Twilight-esque movie. But, guess what, it could be. It might have. It may be. This time, the guy’s the mortal and the girl’s the supernatural being. The guy was needy and the girl did what she had to do to save them both.

I like how it is situated in a town covered by the Bible Belt. Sometimes, it is funny how “devout” the Catholics are with their overly exaggerated beliefs and principles. It’s funny how they become so judgmental of someone who is different from them. It’s comical how they become so harsh and mean to someone who doesn’t believe in what the believe in. That, my friends, is hypocrisy at work.

I do agree though that it has a nice back story to use as a curse. A caster falling in love with a mortal. And then when the mortal was about to die, she makes the worst mistake of her life – she uses a curse to return someone from the death. This is very forbidden. Well, I must say that love makes us so blind and it fogs our own intellect. We make the worst decisions when we are in love because we are so tied to the fact that we cannot live without someone after we’ve spent a lot of time with them. I know this much even if I haven’t been in love. See, I haven’t been in love and I already know that feeling? What more for Genevieve? How could she have felt?

This curse? It is nice to have. The movie also tells us that we become who we want to be. We take control of our feelings and our own “destiny”. They say destiny is not a matter of chance but a matter of choice. That was what Lena did. She chose. A generations-long tradition of dark casters is suddenly changed. What it also tells us is that we do all the things we can do for the sake of love. Macon shape-shifted into Ethan to trick Lena into believing that Ethan is dead. This is just to cover the fact that one of Lena’s loved ones should die for the curse to be broken. This doing everything for love thing was on the side of Macon. Macon loved Ethan’s mother so much that he vowed to protect him.

Aw. Sweet. That was despite the fact that Ethan’s mother is not separated from his father. And that was also despite the fact that Macon and his family are despised.

I actually liked the homily of one pastor about sacrifice.

Sacrifice. It’s not what I would call a modern word. People hear the word sacrifice and they become afraid that something will be taken away from them or that they will have to give up something they couldn’t live without. Sacrifice, to them, means loss in a world telling us we could have it all. But I believe that true sacrifice is a victory. That’s because it required free will to give up something for someone you love, or something or someone you love more than yourself. I won’t lie to you. It’s a gamble. Sacrifice won’t take away pain and loss, but it wins the battle against bitterness, the bitterness that dims the light on all of the true value in our lives.

This movie is cheesy while riding on the bandwagon of the supernatural love stories. Did I like it? Sure. Because it is just so empowering that I needed something to remind me that I make my own life and I am the only one to blame for my own feelings. This is definitely not a five-star movie but it was able to send its message across and that suffices, for now.

Leave a Reply

