A Little Breather

I can finally breathe.

The thing that I have been dreading for these past few weeks has come to pass.

Yesterday was the schedule of our presentation to one of the bosses. My business trip to Cebu won’t go unnoticed. We were to report our findings on our process validation activity with the other units of the company. I was so nervous yesterday because it’s the first time I will present in front of a person whose position includes the words vice president in them.

Scary no?

So, anyway. I have been so stressed about this because I don’t know what to expect and what to prepare for. In the end, I just followed the template of my colleague who has been through a lot of this kind of presentation. I tried to follow her thinking and the way she presented her collected data.

It was a learning experience for me because I also want to show them my own flare in presentation and gathering of the much needed data. I learned a lot from this experience especially in dealing with people for process validation. Naturally, they will be so cautious of their actions because they know they are being watched. They don’t want to make mistakes but I ensured that I was a friendly face that would not report anything that is not correct or which is not happening.

During the presentation itself, I tried to calm myself down. I tried to speak in a voice that is not wavering so as not to provide any hint of nerves. In the end, I was able to make it. I was able to make my points and defend that ones that needed defending. It was helpful too that the boss wasn’t so much like a boss but rather a colleague of the same level. She didn’t look strict and stern but more of accommodating and friendly.

I cannot fathom the lengths up to which I was quite laughing at myself for being so stressed and nervous. There was nothing to worry about after all as long as I have my presentation and process speak up for me. I was able to do a lot better than I thought I would because I thought that I might say the wrong words or have major a major disconnect with what actually happens.

With that out of the way, I can continue with my very chill and laid back life in the office.

Leave a Reply

