Romantic Comedy-Drama: Silver Linings Playbook

Watch for the signs.

Silver Linings Playbook is one of the Oscar-nominated movie for Best Picture. Naturally, I would want to watch it.

Silver Linings Playbook is the story of Pat Solitano, Jr (Bradley Cooper), his release from psychiatric care and his journey towards reconciling with his wife. It’s also the story of Tiffany Maxwell (Jennifer Lawrence) and her fight to getting back her life from being widowed and troubled sex life. If that isn’t complicated enough, they’d throw in Pat Solitano, Sr (Robert de Niro) who has OCD. This is one mental movie.

The plot isn’t so complex and hard to understand. Pat gets released from the mental facility and then he meets the troubled Tiffany who proposed to help him with his wife if we would participate in a dance competition with her.

The more complicated aspect of the movie are the emotions and the disorders they had to deal with. I am always at the edge of my seat whenever Pat would go into his fits.

I think that it was a touching story which wasn’t so focused on the love aspect but on its discovery. Some movies just shows that these people got together but never the hardship and the understanding of why they should be together. Some movies make a lot of shortcuts to get to the happy ending part. Of course, less than 2 hours is a terribly short time to tell a story of love. But, there should be a better way of doing that.

I was in tears by the end of the movie and I was really moved by Pat’s letter to Tiffany.

Dear Tiffany,

 I know you wrote the letter. The only way you could beat my crazy was by doing something crazy yourself. Thank you, I love you. I knew it the minute I met you. I’m sorry it took so long for me to catch up. I just got stuck.

Pat

2 thoughts on “Romantic Comedy-Drama: Silver Linings Playbook

Leave a Reply

