Daily Prompt: Burning Down the House

The prompt said:

Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

I am assuming that it will happen at this moment in time.

The things I will grab are:

  1. My computer. It is partly the documentation of my life. It has my schedule and pictures and favorite videos. It has the files that I need for school and work. So, losing it may be like losing the organization that I have for my life.
  2. My phone. How will I communicate what has happened to us if I do not have my phone with me. Although I have a backup of my phone data in my laptop, it does not necessarily mean that I could contact them.
  3. My bag. My bag has a lot of stuff inside it. It has an umbrella, my tumbler, my planner, pens, my data cables, camera and charger. It is one of the best things about me. I keep all my important stuff inside one bag so that if this moment comes, I have the advantage of not thinking about the stuff that I have to grab.
  4. My file case. Aside from my bag, I also have a file case where I put all of my important documents. Inside it I have my birth certificate, NBI clearance, bills, passport and other identification. I know that it is easy to get them but wouldn’t it be nice to undergo a fire and start rebuilding your life immediately after instead of trying to get these identification?
  5. His jersey. Of all the clothes I have, I think that I have to save his jersey. He is one of those that I am grateful for. He changed my world and how I see it. Wearing his jersey is like having him close to me and that provides me a sense of safety and assurance that everything will be alright. It also reminds me of how I once was a prison of my own self to a person who decided to be happy and accept the things that comes his way.

I have a knack of preparing for things like this and I know where to find them. So, if in case a fire breaks out in the middle of the night, I will not waste time in looking for the stuff that I need to get. I might have a problem with looking for the jersey because my closet is such a mess.

14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Burning Down the House

Leave a Reply

