Word Vomit: Dear You

Dear you,

I’m not giving up, I’m just moving on. It’s just not going to happen, I think. Although, I have this desire to be really with you, there are a lot more things that prevents that from happening.

One, is the really big age difference. I know that age is just a number but it leads me to number 2. Two, we don’t share a lot of things in common. We don’t even talk much about anything aside from volleyball and friends except for the occasional family problems you have. Three, you just don’t cut it.

I know that the third is a bit superficial but what I look for is someone who can share my interests in books and movies and travel and cultural stuff. You don’t seem to have your brain geared towards that. And I don’t think you’re willing to go the distance to explore the things that I love. That is totally fine with me.

I’m not saying goodbye, I’m just saying that I am not thinking of you the same way as I did before.

Actually, I have a problem moving on from you. If other people gave me the attention you have given me, I would totally forget about it easily. But since you are a crush, that attention has a little extra in it that makes me not want to forget. I have to admit that having you enter my life was a great experience. It taught me a lot of things and helped me discover who I am as a person. I won’t take take that credit away from you despite the fact that you have unknowingly done that.

We can be close friends still and I can always give help whenever I’m needed. But, for now, I just need to figure out how to quit you.

Leave a Reply

