Young Adult: Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares

This is the third book that is from the collaboration of Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I had a great time with Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and I look forward to have this adventure with Dash and Lily.

It is Christmastime and Dash and Lily have different ideas of what a Christmas should be. Dash looks to be apathetic about it because of going through his parent’s divorce while Lily is more enthusiastic about it. It must be one of the nice highlights of the book.

I loved the idea of having each other go to different parts of the city for dares. But, is it really possible for two teenagers to create such adventures for each other? It looks like that it required a lot connections and thinking things through. It surprised me that it only happened in just a week. And it was the Christmas holidays at that when people are preoccupied with a lot of other things. As far as reality goes, this didn’t catch my fancy. I found it to be too farfetched to really happen in real life.

However, I liked how things progressed between Lily and Dash. I liked how they were both apprehensive at first but it turns to be a sharing of deep secrets about their personal lives. One quote struck me, “why do we need the disconnect to connect?” It is about having an easier time to tell strangers a secret more than telling the same secret to people you personally know. It reminded me so much of myself. I wish I could just meet someone who’d do this adventure with me.

All in all, I really liked the book despite my thinking that this could not really happen in real life. Also, because there are lot of good insights to life, love and people’s effects in our lives.

I sure do hope that I’ll find a red moleskin notebook in one of my book stores one of these days.

Leave a Reply

