Welcome Back

Today was a great day. You know why? Because I was not thinking about him for the majority of my time in the office.

I actually woke up later than I should have. I slept at around 2 in the morning because I could not get enough of watching the third season of Friends. I am really sorry about that. I was actually up and about at around 5 but I was too lazy to get up because of the very cold weather. Bed weather is what they call it. And, stay in bed was what I did. I became conscious again an hour and a half later. That’s when everything seemed to be in a rush.

No worries, said the day. There weren’t many passengers at the terminal and traffic was at minimum. Why can’t it be always like this on days that I wake up later? Life would be a little happier. Travel time to the office was just around 30 minutes. On days that the commute to the office is a hassle, that would just be the length of time I wait in line for a van.

So, hurrah for small victories.

Welcome back says the coffee.

I immediately grabbed my cup because it is the morning ritual in the coffee. It’s either caffeine or you’re done for the day. There is no room for a mental leave today because I have to get things done.

Get things done, I did. It was one of the most productive days ever. Not only did I not receive work-related emails, nobody called me on the phone. What life. This is really one of those ideal work days in the office. I could just not complain. I look forward to more days like this. I also look forward to days where other people need me to solve their problems because I saw this quote that I would want to apply in life:

Give people more than what they expect and do it cheerfully.

I think that it’s just a great mantra for people in the service industry. Despite the fact that I am working with people who do not really have the nicest personalities, it’s refreshing to know that there are people who looks past those dents and just focuses on the task at hand.

Aside from the people asking about how the “date” went, I did not think about him today. Okay, there were idle moments that I was daydreaming but it would usually end in palpitations. That didn’t happen today. I may have been able to control my thoughts today. Plus, it helps that my horoscope for today was a bit more helpful that usual:

Sometimes when you finish a journey, you arrive at a place that looks very different from what you thought it was going to look like. You might be disappointed, you might be pleasantly surprised. But you should definitely be hopeful that things will get better. You are where you need to be, and if you aren’t happy about the accommodations, be patient. Learn to live with it and explore what it offers. This place you are in has much more to offer than you realize.

I knew things are always going for the better. On days like this, you can’t help but smile and say to yourself that everything will always be alright in the end.

Leave a Reply

