Young Adult: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

You know that there’s something going on when somebody asks you to be his girlfriend for 5 minutes. That is how this book starts and develops into a weird story. Despite the weird question, one thing I liked about the book is how it is so close to reality – well, nearly close.

We are taken into a one-night journey towards a budding new relationship. It was a roller coaster ride that lasted all through the night. Somehow, I believe that somewhere in this world there is a couple that will do something like that. It isn’t at all far-fetched. That was what I liked about this book. It does not lead you into thinking that love is realized in a few minutes of dancing or talking with each other.

I like Nick’s ability to release his emotions through his lyrics. I love his gentlemanly demeanor. I love his sweetness and caring. However, he isn’t the perfect type of guy. He obsessed for months over Tris. He was clearly unaware of what might actually happen if he lets go of the past. He needed answers to questions that are better not answered. Although, I must admit that I haven’t experienced a break up and we all have different ways of trying to go through it.

I like Norah’s humor. However, what I hate about her is generally what I hate about myself. She hates taking risks. She hates being out there and immersing herself into the moment. She hates opening up to other people aside from her best friend. I hate her because of her insecurities. That was why I can relate to her so much that I was probably living through her the whole time I was reading the book.

The book was entertaining and spine-tingling. It does not provide a cheesy romantic story but it gives you the type that you would want to relive over and over. It had the right amount of adventure, sex and romance.

At the end of the novel, I cannot help but to feel smitten.

Leave a Reply

