Dance to the Top

I got home at 1:30 AM.

I went to this year’s Indakan competition. Indakan, to those who don’t know, is an annual dance competition that is part of the Engineering Week. Since I was a freshman, I was part of the team and, in my final two years of college, have been the captain.

So, this competition is very close to my heart. And so are the people that are part of it.

I arrived just in time to watch the first performer  dance. I am not bashing but I must say that there are a lot of crappy routines. This isn’t an ode to other people’s talents but if you want to join a competition, join to win (and have fun).

At the end of everything, I was very proud of the team and I was definite that the group will place. Suddenly, it was reminiscent of the 2009 competition. That was the last time we won and I did not have any doubt that we could win.

They announced third place.

They announced second place.

By that time, I was a bit nervous. There was still another team to beat and they are the team who has been winning year after year after year. And, at the same competition, they won Best Over-all Production.

They said that the first place got 99.08%. Screw it, we may not

And they announced our name. I was so happy. We won first place again (after three years).

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT.

That was so hype! I am so proud of the team! All of their hardships were definitely worth it.

I was in a good mood until the morning after. And despite the numerous challenges that I face this morning, I was chipper.

This is probably one of the best things that happened in December!

Leave a Reply

