Davao Adventure: Day 1

12 MN

I was a little bit stressed because he just left out of the blue. I tried not to think of things by reading my new book The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. It was a nice read. But, soon enough, I was asleep on my friend’s couch.

2 AM

I hear Aaron come in from work. I think that for a teacher, taking a long vacation will be really taxing. You cannot stay away from school for too long because everything will go awry. I try to get some more sleep because I feel like it’s going to be a long day.

4 AM

I wake up again. This time, it’s to prepare for the long trip to Diosdado Macapagal International Airport. As usual, I had a hard time waking up the lovers. What time did they sleep again? And Erwin did not have any sleep at all.

I took a bath before going to RC’s house so I just changed clothes and prepped myself. Put on some deo and cologne. I tried to weigh my back to make sure that I am within the range of check-in baggages.

4:30 AM

After thirty minutes, we were finally able to get out of the house and make our way to the bus terminal. We rode on a taxi and surprisingly our bags was able to fit in the trunk.

5:15 AM

We arrive at the bus terminal and purchased tickets for a bus bound for Dagupan that leaves the soonest. We are to go down at the Dau Bus Terminal. By this time, I feel the pangs of hunger. The last meal I ate was the night before and it isn’t something that will get you through the whole day.

The trip to the Dau Bus Terminal was all too familiar. It was the usual route when the family comes to visit our relatives in Guagua. The bus, though, turned towards Angeles instead of San Fernando.

The bus we were in had wifi. I was amazed, yet again, despite the fact that I was able to ride one when we went to Zambales last summer.

6:50 AM

We arrive at the Dau Bust Terminal. It was earlier than what I expected it to be. I thought that it’s going to be a long 2 hour drive to the venue. But since we’re talking about a flight, it’s better to be early than late.

We took our bathroom breaks and looked for vehicles bound for the airport. We were able to get the airconditioned jeepneys which cost Php 100 per person. I was sure that we should have went with the use of public transportation options. We would have saved a lot more money.

7:30 AM

We arrived at the Diosdado Macapagal International Airport. There aren’t a lot of people and our check-in counter isn’t open yet. We wait / sleep. Now, I feel how it is to have lots of travel involved in their work.

8:20 AM

The check-in counter opens. YAY.

The sad thing is that Aaron had excess baggage so he had to purchase an additional 15 kilograms of check-in baggage. That is just so sad. Which reminds me that I am a very light packer. I was able to put 5 days worth of clothing in less than 7 kilograms. How good am I?

Then when we were to enter the pre-departure lounge, a security personnel stopped me and wanted to check my bag. The scanner, apparently, saw the containers of the stuff April asked me to buy. I diverted the attention of the checking security personnel to my toiletries bag where she realized that I only have small amounts of liquid in my bag.

9:30 AM

We board the plane! I am so excited to ride an airplane again.

The view from where I was seated.

10:20 AM

And then we fly to Davao!

12 NN

We arrive at Davao International Airport. The moment I open my Globe phone, he called. I cannot hide my happiness and I lose the bet I have with Erwin. With that call, he gets a free meal. That situation both sucked and brought joy to me. I am a lot confused then.

We made our way to the taxi stands and hired a taxi to take us to our hotel. We see that Davao is also a beautiful city. It does not have the high skyscrapers of Manila. It has a homey and laid back vibe to it. It doesn’t have awful traffic.

We see a school named Wireless Elementary School. We are all at awe. We were surprised with the name because it is a bit out of the ordinary for a province to name the local school, Wireless.

12:30 PM

We find our hotel and checked-in. We drop our bags, rested for a little and looked for food.

The very heavy first meal in Davao.

1 PM

We discovered this buffet – Kuya Ed’s. It offers eat-all-you-can lunch for Php 150. We immediately took the offer because we realized that there will be no other place that you will find a buffet for Php 150. We were wrong when we found out that Davao has plenty of these places.

That was probably one of the most filling lunches ever. For a buffet, I saw that the diners were from all walks of life. There was one person who still has paint all over his hands and clothes. There are businessmen. There were families and there were friends who were just having a nice chit-chat over lunch. That was probably one of the coolest things I experienced.

The food was also phenomenal. I loved the fish which tasted like half-milkfish, half-tilapia. The rice was very filling. The laing was cooked differently. They had fruits for desserts and the occasional banana cakes.

That was probably the sign of what we’ll be doing in Davao – eat.

2:30 PM

We decided to sleep because of the filling lunch and that we don’t have enough sleep at all.

The big eagle of Davao at People's Park

5:00 PM

Erwin and I decided to go the nearby People’s Park. It’s like a very big park for runners, lovers, families and friends. And, speaking of friends, I met my then officemate, April, for a quick meeting. I brought the stuff she asked me to buy and I gave her our gift – a nail art set. We walked around the park and learned that the government spend hundreds of pesos just to get it done. I must say that it is a nice investment because the people will have a place to enjoy and relax within the city limits.

7:30 PM

Aaron called and asked where we were. We said that we are at the nearby People’s Park and they wanted to eat dinner. Along the road towards the park are a lot of food establishments and we decided on eating at Toryano’s. They say that they are best known for their native chicken dishes. Despite that fact, I ordered a plate of liempo. Like other fast food chains in Manila, they also offer unlimited servings of rice. That was the best bit. They have a small serving of liempo but I was able to consume about 3 cups of rice. That’s the best I can get. I also ordered a glass of calamansi juice which was a bit sour but that was the point of it, really.

We had a nice chat over dinner with April. Then, by the time someone called Erwin on the phone, we decided to leave while he was not looking.

We were thinking of going to a bar and drink the night out. But, we decided on buying drinks instead and do it in the comforts of our rooms.

9:00 PM

We set ourselves to look for drinks. The place looks deserted. We found a convenience store nearby and filled our basket with Antonov Vodka. I was not feeling good about this because I know that I have low alcoholic tolerance.

Then, what was bound to happen, happened. I got drunk. At first I was really enthusiastic about it because I couldn’t feel the effects of alcohol. When my head started to hurt, I could handle myself anymore. I know that I said things that I shouldn’t have. I exaggerated feelings that I shouldn’t have.

11:30 PM

I went back to our room, pulled the covers and slept.

Leave a Reply

