Daily Prompt: Oasis

The prompt said:

A sanctuary is a place you can escape to, to catch your breath and remember who you are. Write about the place you go to when everything is a bit too much.

I believe that I am a person who also enjoy solitary confinement. So, when I need to think things over, calm my mind and, at times, cry, I go to my special place – my room and inside my head.

My room has been with me for the longest time. Ever since I was in 5th grade, I have been using this room and it has been a witness to all my ups, downs and in betweens.

If I am not feeling well, I could live inside my room for days and would just go out to grab a bite to eat whenever everyone is asleep. I am not afraid to be myself inside my own room – I can sing my lungs out, dance to the groove nobody can hear and cry as if I have unlimited supply of tears.

My room, unlike other parts of the house, has special designs. I have put up pictures at one part of the wall to remind me of memories. I have also created a pseudo-whiteboard to write thoughts and goals and frustrations. I have my collection of books, every bit of gadget I have and the walls and doors are especially designed by me.

Whenever I feel like the world is crumbling down on me, I try to refrain from interacting with other people. That is to say that I would not like to unleash all my frustrations and anger at other people. The room helps me do that. I would just lock the door, watch movies on my computer or sleep.

My sanctuary – my special place, could not be replaced. Or, if I were to pick another one, I’d rather have a house by the beach. That would be a better sanctuary for me.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Oasis

  1. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Within… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Withinโ€ฆ » The Blog Farm

Leave a Reply

